Perfect Orzo Salad for a Hot Summer Day

I will publicly announce how incredibly in-love I am with my hubby and how appreciative I am that he can make me so happy even when he’s not here. The man can fuckin’ cook (forgive my French, but he can!). Now, what I’m about to share with you doesn’t even come close to showcasing his culinary skills, but it was certainly a treat to find this lovely dish ready for lunch after what seemed to be the longest-ass walk from the train station to our home. And it’s fucking hot out there (again, forgive my French, but it IS!). (Okay, I shall refrain from the expletives. After all, this blog title is “Lavender&Cocoa,” which sounds more like a perfectly moist, scrumptious cupcake; not a dive bar or diner). Anyhoo, the dish is a chilled orzo salad with pitted Kalamata olives, diced cucumbers, whole or sliced cherry tomatoes, and sliced red onions. You can leave out the red onions, if you are making this dish for a date or summer picnic with a hot someone (cause, you know, onion breath kinda kills the mood). Or if you’re so insistent in adding the red onions like me (what can I say, they just give the dish a little more edge), then be sure to have some minty fresh gum handy or subtly excuse yourself to go brush your teeth (if possible) before any of that . . . . Sometimes though, in the heat of the moment (or in marriage because it is after all “for better or worse”), you just can’t possibly be bothered with such decorums. Am I right?

Okay, so, you basically make the orzo first. Boil some water (enough to submerge however much orzo you want to cook) and add the orzo until the pasta is tender. Drain, transfer to a bowl. Add the ingredients aforementioned, swirl in some extra virgin olive oil, and season with salt and pepper to your liking. Sometimes, we add a bit of the Kalamata olive juice and lessen the salt. In my opinion, doing so makes the dish more savory and delectable. If you’re a meat lover like me, you can add in some pieces of chicken. Chill when done and serve when hungry with a floral and crisp sauvignon blanc. I swear, on a hot summer day like this, the dish will cool your palette down like an air condition!

And now for your viewing pleasure….

P.S. I know, I still owe you a post of the fun treasures I found at the WLYS. I promise to post them as soon as I get them from FedEx! (Dear FedEx, please please please please HANDLE with CARE.)

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Perfect Orzo Salad for a Hot Summer Day

  1. anonymous

    I’ve made a pasta salad a lot like this one, too. It’s also delicious with a little bit of feta crumbled on top.

    • lavender&cocoa

      Thanks for your comment! What a great suggestion to add feta. I’ll definitely let my hubby know, so we can try it too.

  2. Vanessa

    well….love this, it’s keeping in touch and knowing what you’re up to and a cookbook in one and you do the tasting beforehand and make sure it’s good keep it up!!!

    • lavendercocoa

      Thanks, girlie! Of course, I’ll do the tasting beforehand. Wouldn’t want to recommend a crappy dish, especially if my bff is reading! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

