Longest Yard Sale – Day 1 (Alabama)

Greetings!  I am so excited to experience World’s Longest Yard Sale (WLYS) this year.  I found out about it a couple of years back, and have been hoping to make it ever since.  The WLYS runs along US Route 127 from Gadsden, Alabama to Northwest Ohio. The event is essentially yard sale after yard sale along the 127 Corridor — bargain hunter’s galore! This year, the stars aligned for me. My Mom recently moved to Nashville, TN, which made it easy to reach the Alabama portion of the WLYS, Tennessee (of course), and parts of Kentucky. I don’t think I’ll be able to make it to Ohio this year. Anyway, since Mom is in Nashville, I thought it would be a great opportunity to do some quality mother-daughter bonding. We both love collecting treasures, after all (much to my husband’s dismay!).

Welcome to Alabama!

Day 1 started today for us, even though the WLYS officially started yesterday (August 6). We began our day bright and early and traveled to Gadsden, Alabama. I must say, I was a little disappointed with the scarcity of good junk on this stretch of the WLYS. I really didn’t know what to expect, but I guess, I was envisioning row after row of vendors along the roadside selling their wares. It really was a “yard sale,” in the traditional sense. People opened up their lawns to strangers hoping to get rid of their unwanted items. The homes along this trail were widely spaced from each other, so there were occasions where we wouldn’t see any yard sale for a few miles. The heat and traffic, coupled with the limited amount of options made it a rather frustrating day. Each of us did come away with a little treasure, which didn’t make us feel like total treasure-hunter failures! And we met some lovely, very polite co-bargain hunters along the way. So, we retire for now and start again tomorrow! I have a list now that I have a better idea of what’s out there (or could potentially be out there!)

On my list:
1. Funky cabinet hardware for my new white home office cabinets.
2. Shabby chic lamps (2).
3. Frames for fun art work and my (future) wedding wall.

Oh, and here’s my fun, little treasure!

Mini Japanese Vase

3 Comments

Filed under Design

3 responses to “Longest Yard Sale – Day 1 (Alabama)

  1. Bob Riley

    I’m glad that the “Welcome to Alabama” sign states that I’m a beautiful governor!

  2. lavender&cocoa

    haha! very funny, mr. w.

  3. Pingback: World’s Longest Yardsale Finds « Lavender&Cocoa

Leave a Reply

